Small vs. Large Scooters

When I bought my Forza, I was planning to sell my smaller Honda Elite 110.  After all, a bigger scooter should be able to do anything the smaller scooter could, plus more.  Right?  I found this to be a false assumption and have since decided to keep both scooters.  I will try to explain below.

FrontComparison

RearComparison

SideComparison

Scooters come in various sizes, ranging from under 50cc to over 600cc.    Your needs should determine what size is best for you.  Having owned scooters and motorcycles ranging from 80cc to 1842cc, here are my thoughts.

50cc or less

These scooters are great for fuel efficiency and maneuverability.  They are easy to park anywhere.  However, you will be limited where you can ride them because they are slow.  Forget about most main roads.  If the posted speed limit is 35mph, you can be assured that people will be driving 45 (or faster), and you will not be able to keep up.

Most people I know who own these were first time scooter riders and were afraid of going too fast.  They wanted to start off small and eventually work their way up.   I was in this category too, and within about one month wished I had bought something more powerful.

Although you can put a passenger on them, each scooter has a maximum weight capacity.  The capacity for 50cc scooters is not that much, so having two adults on a 50cc scooter is pretty much out of the question, unless you don’t care about damaging the engine and risking your safety.  Also, the more weight on the scooter, the slower it will go.

I would personally never consider buying a 50cc scooter.  Even if all of your riding is on campus, in a congested city with stop and go traffic, etc., there are times when you might want to pass or swerve around something while staying out of the way of oncoming traffic.  These slow scooters do not provide that occasional burst of power you will wish you had.

150cc or less (my Honda Elite 110)

These scooters are a little larger than the 50cc models, but are still small enough to provide maneuverability and very good fuel economy.  The top speed of these ranges approximately 55-60mph (97 km/h).  The  speed you get will depend on factors such as your weight, wind conditions, whether you are going uphill, downhill, etc.  These scooters provide enough power to ride on most main roads in cities and suburbs.  Even if most of your riding is at slower speeds, scooters between 100-150cc provide power for the times you need it.

250cc and above (Maxi scooters – My Honda Forza)

These require a Class M license in the US.  Anything below 250cc requires a Class L.   Depending on the size, these scooters can reach speeds of over 100mph and can be used on any type of street or highway.  The tradeoff is that they are less maneuverable and fuel efficient.  My Honda Forza 300 has a top speed of 90mph.  This is a speed I will never reach, but I know the power is there when I need it.

The smaller end of this category (250cc) are better on gas and are lighter and easier to maneuver.  The larger end, such as a Honda Silverwing and Suzuki Burgman, are 600cc or more.  These larger ones are ideal for those doing a lot of highway riding or touring.   But they are considerably heavier and as a result harder to maneuver while doing city riding or the going to the local grocery store.

Fuel Efficiency

Needless to say, the smaller the scooter, the more fuel efficient it will be.  But is getting better gas mileage worth not having enough power?  My Honda Elite 110 gets about 93mpg.  My more powerful Forza is getting about 68mpg.  To me, the extra power is worth the 25mpg difference because I know I could ride it on any type of street.  For you, the extra power might not be relevant.

A larger scooter means having a larger gas tank, which means fewer trips to the gas station to fill up.  The Forza has a 3 gallon tank.   The Elite has a 1 gallon tank.  I can ride twice as long on the Forza before having to stop for a fill-up.

Storage

You would think that the size of the scooter would correspond to the available storage space, but this is not necessarily true.  My smaller Elite 110 has better storage capabilities.  Looking at the photo below, I could easily fit a case of water into my smaller Elite, but cannot do that on the Forza.  The seat on the Forza will hit the water and prevent it from closing.

EliteStorageWater  ForzaStorageWater

At first glance, it looks like the Forza trunk is huge, but in reality, it is two smaller trunks separated by a center section that is unusable.  Each scooter can hold two helmets, but the Forza has separate areas for them.  This means that you cannot store anything that is long or wide.   I like to do a lot of handyman work and have noticed that most of my power tools will not fit in the Forza, but will fit easily in my Elite.  Because of this, I am going to have to explore getting an additional topcase.

EliteStorageHelmets

ForzaStorageHelmets

Costs

Insurance – The insurance on my Forza is about 40% more compared to the Elite 110.

Fuel – I get 93mpg on my Elite.  So far I get 65mpg on my Forza.  As of now, I need to buy 1.4 gallons of gas for every 1 gallon I buy for the Elite.

Maintenance – The larger Forza will cost more to maintain.  I have not yet done any detailed analysis.

Other Things

The smaller Elite has a flat platform where my feet go.  This is a huge advantage for those times when you want to transport bulky items for short distances.   For example, going to the gas station to get gas for the lawnmower.  I can put the container between my feet as I ride.  The same thing with larger items like the gas powered blower shown below.  You cannot do this on the larger scooters.

GasCan

LeafBlower

Sure, you can use bungee cords and tie things to the back seat or a rear carrier.  But scooters are all about getting on and riding.  If you have to take time to tie things and then worry about if they are going to fall off, you lose a lot of the benefit of having a scooter.  The smaller scooters are more versatile as a result.

The Forza (and other larger scooters) includes a cigarette lighter adapter in the glove box.  This is nice to have for charging your mobile phone or connecting a heated jacket or vest.

poweroutlet

The Forza includes a parking brake that can be used while the bike is on an incline.  I find this useful when waiting for someone while sitting on the bike.  It frees my hands from having to hold the hand brake.  I can use both hands to check my phone for messages and do other things.

The heavier weight of the Forza compared to the smaller Elite translates into a more comfortable, smoother ride.  I don’t feel blown around by the wind as much as I do on the Elite.

To summarize, there is a wide range of scooter sizes.  The size you should get depends on what your needs are.  This is similar to the process you go through when buying a car.  After riding my Forza for a couple of weeks, I have decided to also keep my Elite 110.  There are times when I will want to use one instead of the other.

28 thoughts on “Small vs. Large Scooters

  1. Very well stated. We own a Yamaha Zuma 125 scooter along with our larger Burgman 400 scooter.
    The Zuma 125 is a 2009 model that had been sitting in our local Yamaha dealer’s showroom unloved for several years. One day were were there getting some warranty work done on our motorcycle when my wife saw it and fell in love. Since we were the first people to actually show any interest in it for quite some time, that’s sad considering what good little scooters they are, the dealer made us an offer on it that we could not refuse.

    http://s1105.photobucket.com/user/AlTrainMan1/media/DSCI1167-Copy_zps91d2ea40.jpg.html

    • Nice looking scooter. Sometimes all you need is something to get around town. The smaller scooters are easy to maneuver and fun to ride. I plan to keep my Elite 110 in addition to the Forza. Thanks for the post.

    • I have not had any issues, even making sudden stops at higher speeds. I’m happy with the brakes. By the way, mine are the standard brakes, not abs.

      • thanks – I appreciate the feedback – the bike looks good,- strongly considering getting one – Intel from owners sure is helpful.

      • mine are the ABS version, because, as I discovered when I took the class for my motorcycle license, I lock my brakes…a lot…I figured after the fact that locking the rear brake more or less accounts for all three times I actually lost it on my old metro. I think the ABS does translate to longer stopping distances, but it makes up for it in the not smearing myself all over the road, and still, when I was running it through its paces to find out what it could and couldn’t do, I basically slammed on them at about 75mph, ABS kicked in, and stopped in about the distance my old metro would have taken to stop from 35(at least partly because if I actually slammed on those brakes like that I’d have completely lost it), without even partial loss of control. I’m quite happy with my brakes.

  2. Great comparison & analysis. Makes perfect sense why you’d keep the smaller scoot. Perfect for errands around town while the Forza is good for longer trips.

  3. Hi Roman from Australia!
    I am thinking about a new “bike” but am a little scared, as I would like to go for a scooter. The problem is, I currently ride a BMW R100RT tourer and I am a little worried I could be underwhelmed by a 300cc scoot. The thing is, I probably don’t do more than about 2000miles a year also and its only for fun anyway. I also dont want to spend too much money, so the Forza seems about the right compromise. Any Advice? Thanks a lot.

    • Hi Martin. See if you could take one for a test ride. I used to ride a Honda Goldwing and have not felt underwhelmed. Everyone is different. You might be surprised.

  4. I plan on getting a Honda Forza soon. Thanks for your write ups! The Forza will be my first
    scoot. I went and test rode the PCX 150 and the Forza. I was originally going to get the pcx 150. Mainly the scoot will be used for work transportation. But may just go out once in a while too. Going to work I have the option to either take back roads or the highway. The pcx 150 would only do 62mph with me on it. So the highway is pretty much out of the question for me with the PCX 150. I’d feel like I’d get ran over. The Forza has enough power to go highway speeds. Little more then I wanted to pay for a scoot. But I think I’ll be a lot happier with her.
    Thanks Again!

  5. HELLO ROMAN HOW YOU DOING IM TRY TO GET A SCOOTER, HONDA PCX OR HONDA FORZA,JUST FOR WORK IS ABOUT 40 MILES GO AND BACK FROM WORK,WHICH YOU RECOMEND TO ME,THANKS

    • What kind of streets do you ride to work? Any Highway driving? Are you in the city? Or country? If you could describe your trip to work, it would be easier to make a recommendation. Forza is bigger and faster, but does not get as good gas mileage as PCX. What is more important to you?

  6. Amazing article and love the photos as well! After reading, I think I will definitely keep my Kymco Super 8 Scooter, it has the practicality with its design. I’m able to carry much more items when going shopping, just wish that I could fit a full size helmet under the seat. Your comparison was almost like comparing a car to an SUV. I think I will opt for the NC700X for speed and longer distance versus the Forza. While keeping the Kymco Super 8 for running errands around town.

  7. Great article! Just what I needed – I ride a PCX150 and looked at a Forza yesterday. My first thought – that thing is huge! Dealer wouldn’t do test rides -no fluids in new bikes until sold. If I get the scooter, will def. keep the 150 – can’t beat the maneuverability.

    • Thanks Nancy. The Forza might look huge, but you will quickly get used to it and not think about it. Good luck if you decide to buy one.

  8. Hi Roman, and thanks for all the great info. I’ve found these pages invaluable for someone like me who is seriously considering getting a Forza. As selection is limited in my part of the world, I have an option get one new at a good price but I’d have to have it ordered in and commit to buy sight unseen (or loose a hefty deposit if I change my mind). The only real niggle I have is how comfortable this will be for me at 6′ tall. How tall are you and do you find you have enough leg room to be comfortable for longer rides? I plan on doing some longer rides in the summer (although I do own a car as well) so would like to get your take on that. Or if anyone else around my height has one and could chime in I’d appreciate that as well. Cheers.

    • Hi Mike. I am 6′ tall myself and have never had an issue with leg room. I have been happy with my purchase. Good luck with your decision.

  9. Just to let everyone know, a Michelin City Grip 120/70-12 tire will fit on the front of a Honda Elite 110. The little scooter handles better on cracked pavement, when the cracks are parallel to the direction travelled, and causes no perceptible speedometer error- it’s almost exactly the same outside diameter.

  10. I got over 85 mpg when I first got my Forza until the first service – was driving 60 mph. Now I’m getting 70-75 mpg, but my average trip is well over 50 miles one way and try to keep 70 mph. Did over 8k in less than two month, so I would say it is normal though I now have Givi wind screen and 52 litres storage box plus Tucano Urbano skirt.

  11. A great, informative article. I started out on a Ruckus but it didn’t have enough power (you’re exactly right about if the speed limit is 35, everyone drives 50). So know I’m thinking of getting a Forza. I really want a Big Ruckus, but can’t find one anywhere. My question is, since you bought your Forza have you had any mechanical issues? Reliability? As you bought it a free years ago, I’d love to hear your experience.

  12. am German living and working in Thailand since 18 years I totally disagree with “Thais never tell the truth”. No country / culture needs people like you with their “general” statements. Maybe YOU are attracting the “wrong” people (everywhere ?). Show me your friends and I will tell you who you are….. Anyway I like your reports. They are very informative and nice to read (except….). Good luck for your future trips.

Leave a comment